Live video of National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Weekend

On Saturday and Sunday, October 2 and 3, Wildfire Today will carry live streaming video of the two services honoring the 80 firefighters that died in the line of duty in the United States in 2009. Their names will be added to a plaque at the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial at the National Fire Academy campus at Emmitsburg, Maryland.

The schedule for the two live services:

Candlelight Service: Saturday, October 2, 6:45 p.m. ET, 3:45 p.m. PT

Memorial Service: Sunday, October 3, 9:30 a.m. ET, 6:30 a.m. PT

The video will be right here, at https://wildfiretoday.com/2010/09/24/live-video-of-national-fallen-firefighters-memorial-weekend/

The live video will be below. Between now and then, there will be other programming from WUSA9.com on the video player.

We have an unofficial list of the world-wide wildfire line of duty deaths in 2009 HERE. All of the U.S. LODDs on our list will be honored at the services, with the exception of pilot Roger Hershner who died on March 8 when his helicopter crashed in Kansas while ferrying the ship to the location of a fire contract in Virginia. Perhaps that incident was considered a gray area, but we consider it a firefighter LODD and have reported the oversight to FireHero.org, hoping they will add his name.

More information about the 2010 Memorial Weekend.

Author: Bill Gabbert

After working full time in wildland fire for 33 years, he continues to learn, and strives to be a Student of Fire. Google+